Democratic Republic of the Congo

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) is a country in the middle of Africa. It is commonly referred to as the “Heart of Africa.” The DRC has a population of almost 100 million people. Kinshasa, which is a city of 15 million people, is the capital. Over 50% of the population in the Democratic Republic of the Congo live in rural areas. 

The countries surrounding the DRC are the Central African Republic, South Sudan, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Tanzania, Zambia, Angola, and the Republic of the Congo. The population is 43% Catholic, 25.8% Protestant, 12.6% Islamic, 11.2% Jehovah’s Witness and Mormon, and 7.4% indigenous and other beliefs. 

The official language of the DRC is French; however, there are four national languages–Kikongo (Kituba), Lingala, Swahili, and Tshiluba. Due to various tribal groups, there are almost 200 different languages spoken in the DRC. 

The United States is about 4.2 times bigger than the Democratic Republic of the Congo. The Congo is about the size of Florida, Georgia, Alabama, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Louisiana, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Kentucky, West Virginia, and Virginia combined. 

The Democratic Republic of the Congo is a huge country and is in dire need of more missionaries. Jesus says in Luke 10:2, “…‘The harvest truly is great, but the labourers are few: pray ye therefore the Lord of the harvest, that he would send forth labourers into his harvest.’” Romans 10:14 says, “How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? And how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? And how shall they hear without a preacher?” The harvest in the DRC is 100 million people, and there are only a few missionaries there. Will you go? Will you pray for more labourers? Will you pray that souls will be saved in the Democratic Republic of the Congo?

100 million people

25.8% Protestant