South Africa

South Africa, a beautiful country at the bottom coast of Africa, is about 8 times smaller than the United States. The country is bordered by Namibia, Botswana, Mozambique, and Zimbabwe on the north side of the country. There is actually a country located inside of South Africa named Lesotho.

South Africa has 11 National Languages. The languages include English, Afrilkaans, Northern and Southern Sotho, Swati, Zulu, Venda, Tsonga, Tswana, Ndebele, and Xhosa. The country is very diverse linguistically.

South Africa has 3 capitals. Cape Town is the Legislative capital and is located at the north end of the Cape Peninsula. Bloemfontein is the Judicial capital​ and is ​located​ in central ​South Africa on the southern edge of the Highveld. Pretoria is the Administrative capital, located in the Gauteng province, and ​stretches along both sides of the Apies River.

South Africa is considered 75% Christian. This includes every denomination in the Christian realm. Many in South Africa have mixed Christian denominations with ancestral beliefs. 21% of the country either chooses to not have religion or they refuse to state it, and about 4% identify with Hinduism, Islam, and other traditional beliefs.

The population is a stunning 57.71 million people making it the 25th largest country in the world. South Africa’s city of Johannesburg is a whopping 5.6 million people making it the fifth largest city on the continent of Africa. The average age of South Africa is 27. It is a young country that has a lot of potential.

57.7 million people

75% Christian