Uganda, formally known as the Republic of Uganda, is a land locked country located in East/Central Africa. It is bordered by Kenya, South Sudan, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, and Tanzania. The southern part of the country contains Lake Victoria and is located in the Nile river basin.

Uganda’s two official languages are English and Swahili, though Swahili isn’t very widely used in the southern part of the country. There are 45 languages used in the country that fall into the Bantu, Nilotic, Central Sudanic, and the Kuliak families of language.

The capital and largest city in Uganda is Kampala. With a population of 1.6 million, it is also listed as the 36th largest city in Africa. Kampala is located in the southern region of the country just above Lake Victoria.

Uganda is largely Catholic (39.3%) and Anglican (32.2%), followed by Islam (13.7%) and Pentecostalism at (11.1%). These are the primary religious divisions in the country. The minority beliefs (3.7% combined) are Seventh-day Adventist (1.7%), Eastern Orthodox (0.1%), Baptist (0.3%), Unaffiliated (0.2%), Traditionalism, African religion (0.1%), and other unidentified religious practices (1.4%).

Uganda’s population is an estimated 42.7 million, making it the 35th largest country in the world and the 8th largest in the continent of Africa. Uganda has the lowest median age in the world at 15 years old, meaning the average person is very young and the life expectancy is very low. There are also many refugees living in Uganda, mainly from Sudan and South Sudan. 

42.7 million people

.3% Baptist